## South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission Teleconference Meeting Wednesday, January 16, 2019 2:00 pm MT / 3:00 pm CT MINUTES

The South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission members participated in the meeting via a teleconference/audio link on Wednesday, January 19, 2019. Chair Donald Straka called the meeting to order at 3:01 pm CT / 2:01 pm MT

Roll call was held and quorum established with the following South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission Members present:

Donald Straka, Chair - South Dakota Bankers Association Representative Lana Anderson, Vice Chair – Meade County Register of Deeds
Julie Risty – Minnehaha County Register of Deeds
Deb Young – Davison County Register of Deeds
Peggy Johnson – Sully County Register of Deeds
Donna Mayer - Pennington County Register of Deeds
Greg Wick – South Dakota Land Title Association Representative
Mitch LaFleur – South Dakota Land Title Association Representative
Erika Olson – South Dakota State Bar Association Representative
Kris Jacobsen – SDACO Deputy Director

Absent: Monte Watembach – Information Technology Professional

Guest: Roger Tellinghuisen, SDACO Lobbyist

A motion to approve the Minutes of January 4, 2019 was made by Julie Risty, seconded by Deb Young. Motion carried by a roll call vote of 8 yeas and 0 nays. Ms. Olson abstained from the vote.

A motion to approve the agenda was made by Julie Risty, seconded by Lana Anderson. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.

Discussion ensued regarding Representative Johns' draft E-Notarization legislation that was distributed to the commission. Various concerns were raised such as no involvement by the Secretary of State's office, and various internal inconsistencies. Following lengthy discussion, the committee requested Erika Olson and Mitch LaFleur to create a bullet point list of concerns to share with Representative Johns, Roger Tellinghuisen and the E-Recording Commission. Chair Donald Straka will contact the newly elected Secretary of State Steve Barnett and request his involvement and opinion on this draft legislation. A motion to oppose Representative Johns' draft legislation in its current form was made by Mitch LaFleur, seconded by Donna Mayer. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.

The opportunity for public comment was given.

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Deb Young, seconded by Julie Risty. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.