South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission Teleconference Meeting Friday, January 4, 2019, 9:00 am MT / 10:00 am CT MINUTES

The South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission members participated in the meeting via a teleconference/audio link on Friday, January 4, 2019. Staff support, Kris Jacobsen called the meeting to order at 10:01 am CT / 9:01 am MT

Roll call was held and quorum established with the following South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission Members present:

Deb Young – Davison County Register of Deeds Peggy Johnson – Sully County Register of Deeds Lana Anderson – Meade County Register of Deeds Donna Mayer - Pennington County Register of Deeds Greg Wick – South Dakota Land Title Association Representative Donald Straka – South Dakota Bankers Association Representative Kris Jacobsen – SDACO Deputy Director

Absent: Julie Risty, Chair – Minnehaha County Register of Deeds Mitch LaFleur – South Dakota Land Title Association Representative Erika Olson – South Dakota State Bar Association Representative Monte Watembach – Information Technology Professional

Staff support Kris Jacobsen asked for nominations for E-Recording Chair. A motion to nominate Lana Anderson as E-Recording Commission chair was made by Peggy Johnson. Ms. Anderson withheld her consent for nomination as Chair but stated she would consent to a nomination to serve as Vice-Chair.

A motion to nominate Donald Straka as E-Recording Commission chair was made by Greg Wick. Mr. Straka consented to the nomination. The motion was seconded by Deb Young. Motion carried by a roll call vote of 5 yeas and no nays. Mr. Straka abstained from the vote.

Chair Donald Straka asked for nominations for E-Recording Vice Chair. A motion to nominate Lana Anderson as E-Recording Commission vice chair was made by Peggy Johnson. Ms. Anderson consented to the nomination. The Motion was seconded by Deb Young. Motion carried by a roll call vote of 5 yeas and no nays. Ms. Anderson abstained from the vote.

A motion to approve the Minutes of December 19, 2018 was made by Deb Young, seconded by Lana Anderson. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.

A motion to approve the agenda was made by Donna Mayer, seconded by Greg Wick. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.

Greg Wick updated the committee on actions that had been taken regarding Rep. Tim Johns proposed e-Notarization legislation since the last meeting. Important information regarding RULONA was distributed to Rep. Johns, Matt McCaulley, Grace Beck and Roger Tellinghuisen in efforts to distinguish between E-Notarization and Remote Notarization. Rep. Johns has been out of the country, so efforts to discuss this issue with him will be made upon his return. Deputy Secretary of State Tom Deadrick has moved to the Attorney General's office but contact has also been made to the Secretary of State - Elect Steve Barnett.

The Commission discussed setting a meeting for January 16, 2019 to receive updates on the status of the e-Notarization legislation. The next meeting is set for January 16, 2019 at 3:00 pm CT / 2:00 pm MT.

The opportunity for public comment was given.

A motion to adjourn the meeting was made by Donna Mayer, seconded by Lana Anderson. Motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.