South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission Teleconference Meeting Wednesday, February 22, 2017

MINUTES

The South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission members participated in the meeting via a teleconference/audio link on Wednesday, February 22, 2017. Committee Chair, Julie Risty called the meeting to order at 10:01 am CT/ 9:01 am MT

Roll call was held and quorum was established with the following South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission Members present:

Julie Risty, Chair – Minnehaha County Register of Deeds
Deb Young, Vice Chair – Davison County Register of Deeds
Elaine Reimers – Brule County Register of Deeds
Peggy Johnson – Sully County Register of Deeds
Haven Stuck – South Dakota State Bar Association Representative
Greg Wick – South Dakota Land Title Association Representative
Mitch LaFleur – South Dakota Land Title Association Representative
Donald Straka – South Dakota Bankers Association Representative
Kris Jacobsen, SDACO Deputy Director

Members absent:

Lana Anderson – Meade County Register of Deeds Monte Watembach – Information Technology Professional

A motion to approve the Minutes of January 25, 2017, was made by Greg Wick, seconded by Deb Young. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.

A motion to approve the Agenda was made by Don Straka, seconded by Elaine Reimers. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.

The Commission proceeded with election of the Electronic Recording Commission chair and vice chair for 2017. Upon nominations being opened for chair, Julie Risty abstained and SDACO Deputy Director Kris Jacobsen presided. A motion was made by Deb Young to nominate Julie Risty for chair, which was seconded by Elaine Reimers. There being no further nominations made, Julie Risty was elected chair by unanimous roll call vote.

Julie Risty then presided over the meeting and nominations were opened for vice chair. Mitch LaFleur nominated Deb Young for vice chair, and Greg Wick seconded the motion. There being no further nominations made, Deb Young was elected vice chair by unanimous roll call vote.

The chair then called for other business, at which time an update was given on e-Recording in South Dakota. Discussion was held and, since Elaine Reimers is one of the Registers of Deeds

who has been accepting documents electronically for recording, she briefly discussed her procedure and indicated she was pleased with the documents she received. The Commission expressed the importance of South Dakota Registers of Deeds being encouraged to share with Commission members any e-Recording issues, concerns and/or benefits that they may experience as e-Recording progresses throughout the state.

Julie Risty then called for public comment, at which time Melanie Gornick, of Simplifile, reported that Moody County is the most recent county to begin e-Recording. It was mentioned that all delivery agents for each county should also be listed on the SDACO website. Kris, from the South Dakota Association of County Officials' office, informed the Commission that no one was present at the SDACO office for comment, so no other public comment was made.

There being no further business, the motion to adjourn was made by Mitch LaFleur and seconded by Greg Wick. Motion carried unanimously by roll call vote.

Meeting Adjourned.