South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission Teleconference January 25, 2017 MINUTES

The South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission met via teleconference on Wednesday, January 25, 2017. The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Julie Risty at 10:01 a.m. CT/9:01 a.m. MT. Roll call was made and a quorum was established with the following present:

Julie Risty, Minnehaha County Register of Deeds
Deb Young, Davison County Register of Deeds
Peggy Johnson, Sully County Register of Deeds
Elaine Reimer, Brule County Register of Deeds
Lana Anderson, Meade County Register of Deeds
Haven Stuck, South Dakota State Bar Representative
Greg Wick, South Dakota Land Title Association Representative
Mitch LeFleur, South Dakota Land Title Association Representative
Kris Jacobsen, SDACO Deputy Director, serving as support staff

Melanie Gornick, Simplifile. Member of the public

Absent: Donald J. Straka, South Dakota Bankers Association Representative

A motion to approve the December 20, 2016 Minutes was made by Greg Wick and seconded by Deb Young. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by unanimous roll call vote.

A motion to approve the January 25, 2017, Agenda was made by Elaine Reimer and seconded by Mitch LaFleur. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

The commission was updated on the appointed membership. New member Lana Anderson, Meade County Register of Deeds, was welcomed to the commission. The reappointments stand as follows: Deb Young, Davison County Register of Deeds; Mitch LaFleur, SD Land Title Association; Haven Stuck, SD State Bar Association; and Donald Straka, SD Bankers Association. Following discussion, a motion to reappoint Monte Watembach as the Information Technology Professional to the Electronic Recording Commission for 2017 was made by Mitch LaFleur, second by Deb Young. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

The commission then engaged in discussion regarding the nominating process for Commission Chair and Vice Chair as well as meeting schedule. A motion to elect a Commission Chair and Vice Chair at the yearly first annual meeting of the commission was made by Deb Young, seconded by Greg Wick. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A motion to establish a quarterly meeting schedule of the Electronic Recording Commission, with quarterly meetings to be held in January, April, July and October of each year, was made by Elaine Reimer, seconded by Lana Anderson. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.

A Press Release has been created and will be distributed to the counties and newspapers across the state. This will inform the public and also direct them to the SDACO website for a complete listing of counties active in E-Recording.

It was noted to the Commission members that Simplifile held an informational webinar teleconference with Davison and Minnehaha counties, to answer their questions regarding program updates and the importance of keeping software up to date to avoid virus situations.

Chairperson, Julie Risty then asked if there was anyone on the teleconference from the public who wished to provide public comment. Melanie Gornick, Simplifile offered that as new counties sign up, she will direct them to provide that information to SDACO in order to keep the most accurate listing on the website. Kris, from the South Dakota Association of County Officials' office, informed the group that there was no one present at the SDACO office for comment. Other commission members provided updates on their progress with the E-Recording option.

The next Electronic Recording Commission teleconference meeting was tentatively set for February 22, 2017, beginning at 10:00 am CT / 9:00 am MT.

There being no further business, the motion to adjourn was made by Haven Stuck and second by Deb Young. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by a unanimous roll call vote.