South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission Teleconference Thursday, February 18, 2016 MINUTES

The South Dakota Electronic Recording Commission met via teleconference on Thursday, February 18, 2016. The meeting was called to order by Chairperson Julie Risty at 3:02 p.m. CT/2:02 a.m. MT. Roll call was made and a quorum was established with the following members present:

Julie Risty, Minnehaha County Register of Deeds
Elaine Reimer, Brule County Register of Deeds
Deb Young, Davison County Register of Deeds
Sheree Green, Lawrence County Register of Deeds
Haven Stuck, South Dakota State Bar Representative
Greg Wick, South Dakota Land Title Association Representative
Donald J. Straka, South Dakota Bankers Association Representative
Monte Watembach, Information Technology Professional joined conference after 3:02 p.m. CST
Peggy Johnson, Sully County Register of Deeds

Since Kris Jacobsen was absent from the meeting, Vice Chair, Deb Young agreed to take the Minutes of the meeting.

A motion to approve the December 15, 2015, Minutes was made by Sheree Green and seconded by Greg Wick. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by unanimous vote.

A motion to approve the February 18, 2016, Agenda was made by Don Straka and seconded by Elaine Reimer. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by unanimous vote.

A motion to appoint Monte Watembach as the non-voting IT professional member was made by Deb Young, seconded by Sheree Green. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by a unanimous vote.

Elaine Reimer, Brule County Register of Deeds, and Peggy Johnson, Sully County Register of Deeds, were reappointed to the Electronic Recording Commission, for a two year term, by the South Dakota Association of County Officials President, Deb Tridle.

Greg Wick commented that, during the recent SDLTA Mid-winter Conference, there appeared to be positive interest in e-recording.

Deb Young has contacted Mark Ladd, as President of PRIA, to obtain a CD of the Standards to submit to the LRC. Stevie Kernick, Executive Director of PRIA will be sending that CD to Deb Young free of charge.

The Commission reviewed and discussed the proposed draft of administrative rules, submitted to the e-Recording Commission on February 16, 2016, which are now in the style and form required by the Administrative Procedures Act. A revision was made to the Reference, following Article 22:03:01:04 entitled Electronic Document and Data Formats, as follows:

Reference: PRIA Website (www.pria.us) Technical standards and guides may be downloaded from the PRIA website. (XML Editor tool required to view complete file) Download available at no charge from Microsoft XML Notepad or on a trial basis from Altova XMLSpy, or Oxygen XML Editor. A CD is available of the standards and guidelines for viewing at the South Dakota Association of County Officials, 211 East Prospect Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501. A computer is required to download an XML editor tool.

Motion to approve the Electronic Recording Rules as revised was made by Deb Young and seconded by Don Straka. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by unanimous vote.

Haven Stuck spoke about the fact that the Rules Review Committee is not in session during the legislative session, however, the public hearing could possibly be scheduled as soon as April 1st.

The commission discussed the requirement of notice by publication, pursuant to SDCL 1-26-4.1, in a minimum of three newspapers. A motion was made by Elaine Reimer, and seconded by Sheree Green, to publish notice in the Rapid City Journal, the Sioux Falls Argus Leader, the Pierre Capital Journal and the Aberdeen American News. With no abstention or opposition, motion carried by unanimous vote.

Deb Young reported the next step is to submit the Electronic Recording Rules to the South Dakota Association of County Officials for authorization to proceed.

There being no further business, the motion to adjourn was made at 3:44 p.m. C.S.T. by Greg Wick, seconded by Peggy Johnson, and unanimously carried.

Meeting Adjourned.