Wheel Tax Ordinance		
12-Aug-10	Jim Waterbury, Gregory County Auditor, asked: "Would you please ask the county auditor's if any have had a wheel tax ordinance referred to a vote. The Gregory County Commission passed a wheel tax and a petition has been taken out to refer it to a vote. The Gregory County States Attorney asked me to check with other counties for the language for the ballot."  //responses are posted as received with no changes made to themie: spelling, grammer, content, etc.	
Aurora	responses are posied as received with no changes made to them-re. spening, grammer, content, etc.	
Autora		
Beadle	Beadle County voted to put the referral directly on the June 2010 Primary Election Ballot for the Wheel Tax. The Commissioners went out and showed a power point presentation regarding the state of the roads/bridges to various different areas in the communityand it failed for the 3 <sup>rd</sup> time. Actually this time it failed worse than it did the other times. The main thing everyone said was that it is an ongoing tax (where an opt-out has a time limit) and that it is an unfair tax because those doing all of the damage don't have to pay on all the wheels ie: semis, gravity boxes etc.  Here is how our State's Attorney worded the Explanation: Beadle County's annual Wheel Tax is currently \$2.00 per wheel with a maximum of \$8.00 per vehicle. The County Commissioners are proposing an increase to \$4.00 per wheel with an annual maximum of \$16.00 per vehicle.	
Bennett	Bennett County passed a wheel tax and an increase and neither was referred.	
Bon Homme		
Brookings	Brookings County is at the max for the wheel tax. It was not referred. We increased it to the max two years ago.	
Brown	Brown County did not have a vote when the wheel tax was implemented.	
Brule	Brule County did raise theirs to \$4 wheel however it did not go to a vote.	
Buffalo		
Butte		
Campbell Charles Mix		
Clark Clay		
Codington	Codington County did try to increase our wheel tax which was referred to a vote in January 13, 2005 and was defeated	
Corson	Codington Coding did try to increase our wheel tax which was referred to a vote in bandary 15, 2005 and was defeated	
Custer		
Davison	This question was posed in July of 2009. Of those that answered, Moody County and Fall River County indicated that the wheel tax ordinance had been referred to a voted. Hope this helps.	
Day	Day County has a \$16 Wheel tax per vehicle since 1996. No vote.	
Deuel		
Dewey	Dewey County - No	
Douglas	Douglas County did have one go to a vote for the \$4.00 and failed. So the commissioners went back and changed the resolution to \$2.00 per wheel and it went through. A year and half later the commissioners made a resolution to go to \$4.00 per wheel and we had a petition come in for it to go to a vote, but the party who returned the petitions signed that he alone witnessed all the signatures and some of the commissioners heard that there were other people circulating the petitions, so it didn't go to a public vote because of a technicality.	
Edmunds		
Fall River/Shannon		
Faulk		
Grant	Grant County's Wheel Tax was not referred to a vote.	

C	
Gregory Haakon	
Hamlin	
Hand	
Hanson	
Harding	
Hughes	
Hutchinson	We have had a wheel tax for several years. It started out at \$2.00 per wheel, then increased to \$3.00. Had no problem then, now I think it would be a different story.
Hyde	
Jackson	
Jerauld	
Jones	
Kingsbury	
Lake	
Lawrence	
Lincoln	
Lyman	
Marshall	
McCook	McCook County passed a Wheel Tax Ordinance in 1994 and it was not referred to a vote. In July 1997, a resolution was passed to share the revenue with cities and townships effective October 1, 1997. 80% is retained by the county, 10% is distributed to municipalities according to Municipal Motor Tax revenue distribution and 10% is distributed to townships according to Twp Spec Hwy Tax revenue distribution. We did hold meetings inviting townships and cities in order to keep them in the loop and get there input. Also, we went with \$4.00 per wheel from the start.
McPherson	McPherson County had passed a wheel tax ordinance in 2008. It was referred to a vote and failed. Jim, I will fax you a copy of the ballot wording.
Meade	Meade County does not have a wheel tax.
Mellette	
Miner	
Minnehaha	
Moody	Yes, We had our wheel tax increase referred to a vote and it failed in 2008. Attached is the ballot it was on.
Pennington	
Perkins	
Potter	
Roberts	Roberts County does have a wheel tax but it was not referred.
Sanborn	
Spink	
Stanley	
Sully	
Tripp/Todd	
Turner	
Union	
Walworth	Walworth County has not had a wheel tax ordinance referred to a vote.
Yankton	
Ziebach	